technokeron.blogg.se

Visual novel reader change system locale
Visual novel reader change system locale











I am a writer and what I expect from a word processor are robust basic feature. Well, in Word there are really tons of features and honestly I use only a limited part of them. Sensitive formats for a locale other than that of the user. I have no way to tell Word that such prices have to be formatted according to USA locale. So, if I format prices as my friend is expecting, that is, by using a dot to separate decimals, prices are no more aligned. However that will confuse my friend, because comma is usedĪs a thousand separator in USA. Since I am using an Italian locale in my system, the decimal tab correctly aligns all prices only if I use a comma as a decimal separator. Of course, I wish to align all prices by using a decimal tab. In such a document I have to include a list of items with a price in euro. For example, let us suppose that I am writing an English document to be sent to a friend in USA. The lang attribute of XML, for instance, that can be applied even to a single word. What I say is that every document should be associated to a language and to a locale, with the possibility to associate a language and a locale to pieces of text too. I am not telling you to link language and locale: they are two different things. From this point of view Office is really primitive. However, even if a paragraph is marked as "English US", locales are not honored. It should be possible to localize every paragraph in a document, because I could also use different languages and formats in the SAMEĭocument. It looks like Office designers do not really understand the needs of people that are able to write in different languages. Is a mess also because I could write at the same time several documents in different languages. I have to temporary change the decimal separator in Windows, which There is no way to set a locale for the document anyway. Uses comma as a decimal separator and it should NOT change, since all the other applications must use commas for decimal separators. However Office works in a way really bad for international writers.įor example, if I write a document in English and I wish to set a decimal tab, such a tab should be able to recognize the dot as a decimal separator, since in a document that I have to send to USA I must use dots as decimal separators. The language and locale MUST be linked to the document, not the system. When I write a document in a specific language, I also uses the formats for dates, currency, and soįorth consistent with that language.

visual novel reader change system locale visual novel reader change system locale

By using that keyboard I can write a document in English, Italian, or French. I am using an English platform on an Italian computer with Italian keyboard. Write a document in a specific language by using specific standards to format dates, time, currency and so forth. Whatever is my system, in fact, I may need to It links them to the current language, keyboard, and default locale I am using in my system, which really make no sense. I am very confused by the way Office manage languages, keyboards, and default locales.













Visual novel reader change system locale